The Blue Cross Blue Shield Association is an association of 36 independent, locally operated Blue Cross and/or Blue Shield companies.

Maureen E. Sullivan

Chief Strategy and Innovation Officer

Maureen Sullivan

Maureen E. Sullivan is chief strategy and innovation officer for the Blue Cross Blue Shield Association (BCBSA), a national federation of 36 independent, community-based and locally operated Blue Cross and Blue Shield companies. The Blue System is the nation's largest health insurer covering nearly 107 million members – one-in-three of all Americans.

She has overall accountability for strategy, brand, marketing, business/program development, strategic communications and educational programs for BCBSA.

Sullivan directs BCBSA’s major strategic initiatives and evaluates all new business opportunities. She currently oversees development of BCBSA’s post-reform strategy including what collective initiatives are needed to compete effectively in the changing competitive market. In recent years, she provided strategic direction for the creation of Blue Distinction, a national program to raise the level of healthcare quality and increase overall value; Blue Health Intelligence (BHI), the nation’s premier health intelligence data resource with health information on more than 54 million consumers insured by the Blues; and Blue365, a national Blue-branded program that supports Blue companies’ consumer engagement and retail strategies.

Before assuming her current position, Sullivan was vice president of BCBSA Strategic Consulting Services. Prior to her career at BCBSA, Sullivan worked on the evaluation of the Brookline Early Education Project, a collaborative program between the Brookline Public Schools and Children’s Hospital to evaluate the impact of early educational and medical intervention on children’s development. The Robert Wood Johnson and Carnegie Foundations funded the program.

She earned a master’s degree in public policy from the John F. Kennedy School of Government at Harvard University where she was a Kennedy Fellow. She also holds a bachelor’s degree with honors from Albertus Magnus College.