Recognizing Quality Healthcare

Blue Cross Blue Shield companies recognize select doctors, hospitals and other healthcare facilities for the safe, effective care they provide to their patients. Each must meet a specific set of rigorous standards to receive a Total Care or Blue Distinction® Specialty Care designation.

Nurse helps patient

Total Care

Focused largely on primary care, Total Care recognizes doctors and hospitals that focus on the whole patient — emphasizing prevention and wellness, delivering more coordinated care, and helping patients better manage chronic conditions.

Total Care

Blue Distinction® Specialty Care

Blue Distinction Specialty Care focuses on hospitals and other healthcare facilities that excel in delivering safe, effective treatment for specialty procedures, such as knee and hip replacements, cardiac care, bariatric (weight loss) surgery and transplants.

Blue Distinction Specialty Care

Blue Distinction Centers (BDC) met overall quality measures for patient safety and outcomes, developed with input from the medical community. A Local Blue Plan may require additional criteria for providers located in its own service area; for details, contact your Local Blue Plan. Blue Distinction Centers+ (BDC+) also met cost measures that address consumers’ need for affordable healthcare. Each provider’s cost of care is evaluated using data from its Local Blue Plan. Providers in CA, ID, NY, PA, and WA may lie in two Local Blue Plans’ areas, resulting in two evaluations for cost of care; and their own Local Blue Plans decide whether one or both cost of care evaluation(s) must meet BDC+ national criteria. National criteria for BDC and BDC+ are displayed on Individual outcomes may vary. For details on a provider’s in-network status or your own policy’s coverage, contact your Local Blue Plan and ask your provider before making an appointment. Neither Blue Cross and Blue Shield Association nor any Blue Plans are responsible for non-covered charges or other losses or damages resulting from Blue Distinction or other provider finder information or care received from Blue Distinction or other providers. 

The Blue Cross Blue Shield Association is an association of 35 independent, locally operated Blue Cross and/or Blue Shield companies.